Legislative assembly elects officers, honors service | APSCUF
Select Page

Delegates begin their day of speakers, reports, and discussion at APSCUF’s legislative assembly, held April 8–9 at the Sheraton Harrisburg Hershey Hotel in the Harrisburg area. It was first in-person assembly since February 2020. Photos/Kathryn Morton

At APSCUF’s 211th legislative assembly, delegates and officers discussed ongoing issues, heard committee reports, elected new officers and committee members, honored retirees, and welcomed a guest speaker. They met April 8–9 at the Sheraton Harrisburg Hershey Hotel in the Harrisburg area — their first in-person assembly since February 2020.

Recurring topics were consolidation, retrenchment, higher-education affordability, funding for Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education, and student debt.

Delegates and officers take a group photo with Josh Shapiro, Pennsylvania gubernatorial candidate, center in navy suit, after he spoke to APSCUF’s legislative assembly April 8.

Guest and Pennsylvania Attorney General Josh Shapiro, candidate for governor, spoke about higher-education and labor issues. He is APSCUF’s endorsed candidate for governor.

Coach Executive Leader John Gump of Kutztown University, above, updated delegates on the coaches’ issues and discussed how APSCUF has strengthened coaches in the more than two decades since they became part of the union.

At Friday’s awards dinner, APSCUF honored retirees with distinguished service awards and a union leader as a friend of APSCUF. All three awards presentations had been delayed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Dr. Kenneth M. Mash, right, introduced David Fillman, executive director of AFSCME Council 13 from 2002 until his retirement in 2021. Both described how the unions have supported one another.

Past APSCUF President Dr. James White, right, spoke about Lisa Demko, retired executive secretary, honored for distinguished service on APSCUF’s staff. She described how APSCUF evolved and diversified throughout her more than 30 years with the union.

Past APSCUF President Dr. Steve Hicks, right, introduced Dr. Allan Benn, retired from East Stroudsburg University, who was honored for his distinguished service. Benn shared advocacy and negotiations stories from throughout this time with the union.

Dr. Kenneth M. Mash, left, and Dr. Jamie Martin address delegates at APSCUF’s legislative assembly April 9 in Harrisburg. Delegates elected officers and committee members for 2022–24 terms.

In Saturday’s elections, delegates voted Dr. Kenneth M. Mash the next APSCUF president, a position he previously held from 2014 to 2020. President Dr. Jamie Martin did not seek reelection due to medical treatment. Delegates reelected Dr. Christopher Hallen of Bloomsburg University as vice president; Dr. Michele Papakie of Slippery Rock University as secretary; and John Gump of Kutztown University as coach executive leader. Dr. Thomas Stewart of Kutztown University was elected treasurer. Delegates elected to the audit committee: Dr. Ellen Foster (Clarion), Dr. Eric Hawrelak (Bloomsburg), and Dr. Heide Witthöft (Indiana). Elected to the budget committee were Susan Drummond (Indiana) and Dr. Michael Malcolm (West Chester). The terms of these positions run June 1, 2022, to May 31, 2024. Click here to read more about the election.

Delegates approved a statement calling on President Joe Biden to cancel all federally held student-loan debt. Click here to read the statement.

Click here to view assembly photos on APSCUF’s Facebook page.