Select Page

April 17, 2020
For more information, contact:
Kathryn Morton, or 717-236-7486

Dr. Jamie Martin

Delegates today elected Dr. Jamie Martin the next president of the Association of Pennsylvania State College and University Faculties. Martin, a professor and chair of the Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice at Indiana University of Pennsylvania, begins her two-year term in June. She is the second woman elected APSCUF president.

Martin previously served three terms as APSCUF’s vice president, during which she was a member of the faculty and coaches’ negotiations teams in 2015–16 and 2019–20. At IUP’s APSCUF chapter, her service included department representative to representative council, delegate to legislative assembly, grievance chair, meet-and-discuss, and executive council.

“I am honored and humbled to be elected president of APSCUF,” Martin said. “President Mash has been a remarkable president, and I certainly have big shoes to fill. I am thankful to have worked with him for six years and lucky to have him available to help with the transition. The outstanding Harrisburg staff and office managers will be of great assistance as I take over as president. The other officers elected today are dedicated, competent, and hard-working. I am very lucky to be able to serve with them.”

Dr. Chris Hallen of Bloomsburg University is APSCUF’s new vice president, and Dr. Clifford Johnston of West Chester University is the new treasurer. Delegates reelected Dr. Michele Papakie of IUP as secretary.

Also at the union’s legislative assembly, held virtually Friday, delegates elected to the audit committee: Dr. Ellen Foster (Clarion), Dr. Eric Hawrelak (Bloomsburg), and Dr. Mark Lepore (Clarion). Elected to the budget committee were Dr. Michael Malcolm (West Chester), Dr. Michelle Amodei (Slippery Rock), and Susan Drummond (IUP).

APSCUF represents more than 5,000 faculty and coaches at the State System universities: Bloomsburg, California, Cheyney, Clarion, East Stroudsburg, Edinboro, Indiana, Kutztown, Lock Haven, Mansfield, Millersville, Shippensburg, Slippery Rock, and West Chester Universities of Pennsylvania.