Select Page

May 15, 2019
For more information, contact:
David Pidgeon, or 717-720-4054
Kathryn Morton, or 717-236-7486

Eligible professors at state-owned universities have an option to retire gradually, after the Board of Governors for Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education today approved a side-letter for faculty phased retirement.

“The voluntary phased retirement program ratified by the Board of Governors today is an example of System leadership and faculty working together, and is the result of our productive relationship with the faculty union,” Board of Governors Chairwoman Cindy Shapira said. “We thank their leadership and members for this important step forward.”

Forms and specifics about the plan are available on the State System’s website at

The Association of Pennsylvania State College and University Faculties voted last week to ratify the plan. APSCUF will publish the side-letter in its next collective bargaining agreement. The current contract expires June 30, 2019, and the parties negotiated for two days this week.

“We are grateful the Board of Governors ratified this plan today,” APSCUF President Dr. Kenneth M. Mash said. “Retirement is a difficult decision for many of our faculty members, and it affects more than just the person retiring. This agreement will afford our students more time with these talented experts, allow departments more time to succession plan, and give professors more time to acclimate to the next phase of their career.”

Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education comprises 14 public universities, which combined enroll the largest number of Pennsylvania residents among all four-year colleges and universities in the Commonwealth. With nearly 100,000 degree-seeking students and thousands more enrolled in certificate and other career-development programs, the State System is a vital contributor to the Pennsylvania economy, generating an estimated $6.7 billion of economic activity annually. Collectively, the State System universities offer more than 2,300 degree and certificate programs in more than 530 academic areas.

The universities have nearly 800,000 living alumni, the vast majority of whom reside in Pennsylvania. The State System universities are Bloomsburg, California, Cheyney, Clarion, East Stroudsburg, Edinboro, Indiana, Kutztown, Lock Haven, Mansfield, Millersville, Shippensburg, Slippery Rock and West Chester Universities of Pennsylvania. The universities also operate branch campuses in Oil City (Clarion), Freeport and Punxsutawney (IUP), and Clearfield (Lock Haven), and offer classes and programs at several regional centers, including the Dixon University Center in Harrisburg and in Center City in Philadelphia.

APSCUF represents about 5,500 faculty and coaches at the State System universities.

This release has been updated to add information about the location of plan forms and information.